Next week will be a big one for the city of Flagstaff, when minimum wage increases to $10.50 per hour, a hot-button topic that has garnered strong opinions on both sides.
Once the increase goes into effect on Saturday, July 1, employers in the city and the rest of Arizona will be required to comply with the new minimum wage laws established in Proposition 206, as well as provide sick leave for their employees.
Proposition 206 is also known as the Fair Wages and Healthy Families Act, and it was brought to life by a citizens initiative called Arizonans for Fair Wages and Healthy Families. This law gives employees more support in the workplace, requiring employers to allow their workers to accrue one hour of paid sick leave per 30 hours worked. For employers with fewer than 15 employees, they can accrue up to 24 hours annually, while employers with 15 or more employees can earn up to 40 hours of sick leave. Employers must meet these minimum requirements but can choose to allow a higher limit.
The law allows temporary, part time, and full time workers to be able to accrue sick leave, which can be used for physical or mental illness, medical care, health conditions, a public health emergency, and absence due to domestic violence, sexual violence, stalking or abuse.
Employers can require employees hired after July 1 to work 90 days before starting to accrue sick leave.