Nominations Open for Don Carlos Humanitarian Awards

Nominations Open for Don Carlos Humanitarian Awards

Tempe Community Council (TCC) is now accepting nominations for the 2020 Don Carlos Humanitarian of the Year, volunteer, impact and young humanitarian awards.

Considered Tempe’s most prestigious distinction, the Don Carlos Humanitarian of the Year award honors an individual or couple who have given outstanding service to the community, has benefited those in need in lasting ways and has made Tempe a better place to live.  The award embodies the legacy, character and spirit of Charles Trumbull Hayden, known by Hispanic pioneers as “Don Carlos” – who spent his life working to help those in need.  Awards are also presented to a notable volunteer, young humanitarian and individual or group making an impact and who have contributed in significant ways by serving the Tempe community.  

 “Tempe has many great people who do amazing things to help those less fortunate in our community,” said TCC Board President Nathanael Pretlow.  “In furthering TCC’s mission to connect those in need with those who care, we look to our residents and neighbors to nominate these individuals and elevate the good works of those who inspire others by illuminating the unsung heroes who help make Tempe a caring community.” 

Nominations can be submitted online at  For information about the awards or nominations email or call 480-858-2310.  The deadline for submitting a nomination is June 30, 2020, with the exception of the Young Humanitarian Award nominations due June 15.  

Recipients will be honored at the 37th Don Carlos Humanitarian Awards event being held on October 14, 2020.

Past Don Carlos Humanitarian Awardees

Dr. William Payne, Leonard Monti, Sr., Margaret & William Kajikawa, Jinnett B. Kirk, Peggy Bryant, Eliza Carney, Naomi Harward, Mimi & Mac Bohlman, Virginia Tinsley, Betty & John Waters, Pat Hatton, Lawn Griffiths, Rudy Campbell, Bobbie & George Overby, Sue & Bob Lofgren, Carol E. Smith, Sue Searcy, Zita Johnson, Bobbie & Don Cassano, David B. Cutty, Joseph Spracale, Jane & Dick Neuheisel, Gail Fisher & Mel Kessler, Linda Spears, Pen Johnson, Sue Ringler, Catherine May & Dan Abbott, Alice & Ralph Goitia, Harry E. Mitchell, Kerry Fetherston, Neil G. Giuliano, Raveen Arora, Shana Ellis, Kathy Stevens, Christina Kajikawa Wilkinson, and Christine Hoddy Busch.



Editor’s Notes

Publish your Community News: We want your local news, business promotions, opinions, press releases, etc. Learn more about My Local News - Arizona.
Please note that My Local News does not fact check or edit Article Contributor's content. Per our terms and conditions Authors are entirely respnsible for use of any non authorized copyrighted images
MLN Arizona Google Analytics 2020 YTD
185,708 Users
642,218 Page Views
5:22 Average Session Duration
136,810 Subscribers


No posts to display