NAU Women’s Basketball Greats to be Recognoized at HOF

GLENDALE, AZ - APRIL 03: The ball goes through the hoop during warm ups before the game between the North Carolina Tar Heels and the Gonzaga Bulldogs during the 2017 NCAA Men's Final Four National Championship game at University of Phoenix Stadium on April 3, 2017 in Glendale, Arizona. (Photo by Ronald Martinez/Getty Images)
My Local News Arizona - Advertisement

Before there was the Women’s National Basketball Association, the Women’s Professional Basketball League made headlines as the first major competition for female basketballers in the country.

This weekend, the entire league will become the ninth team or organization to be inducted into the Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame in Knoxville, Tennessee. On Saturday, these “Trailblazers of the game” will receive much-deserved recognition for their contributions to the beloved sport of basketball.

Former players from the Northern Arizona women’s basketball program will be on hand at the induction. This includes Peggy Kennedy, who was welcomed into the NAU Hall of Fame in 1984. She played one season in the WBL and will join nearly 100 other pioneer players at the event.

Although the WBL was around for just three seasons from 1978-1981, the league played a crucial role in the sport’s overall growth and success. Now, women’s basketball is more popular than ever before, and the contributions of the WBL laid the foundation for it all.

Kennedy rounded out her time at NAU in 1979 as the Lumberjacks’ career leader in points and rebounds. Sally Coughanour, who once worked as the Sports Information Director at NAU, helped Kennedy make her way into the 1979 WBL Draft prior to the league’s second season. The Chicago Hustle selected Kennedy in the 10th and final round, but she spent only part of her season in the Windy City before being traded to the Milwaukee Does.

That year, Kennedy and four other players from the Intermountain Conference, which NAU played in at the time, made it to the league. During its three season, the league welcomed notable players and WBHOF inductees like Nancy Lieberman, Muffet McGraw, Carol Blazejowski and Anny Meyers Drysdale, among many more.

The Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame will celebrate its 20th anniversary this year. Players Chamique Holdsclaw, Tina Thompson and Katie Smith will be inducted individually prior to the WBL, along with Mickie DeMoss (Contributor/Assistant Coach), Dr. Rose Marie Battaglia (Veteran Contributor), Chris Dailey (Contributor/Assistant Coach) and Coach Ceal Barry.

Congrats to all of the 2018 inductees! For more information, please visit the official website of the Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame HERE.

Editor’s Notes

Publish your Community News: We want your local news, business promotions, opinions, press releases, etc. Learn more about My Local News - Arizona.
Please note that My Local News does not fact check or edit Article Contributor's content. Per our terms and conditions Authors are entirely respnsible for use of any non authorized copyrighted images
MLN Arizona Google Analytics 2020 YTD
185,708 Users
642,218 Page Views
5:22 Average Session Duration
136,810 Subscribers


Previous articleLocal Nonprofit in Need of Volunteers to Help Seniors this Summer
Next articleNorthern Arizona Property Has Real-Life Man Cave
I am a multimedia journalist and proud graduate from the Walter Cronkite School of Journalism & Mass Communication. I am originally from Minnesota, and I love learning about my second home, Arizona, and all of it's awesome communities through my contributions to My Local News! When I was a little girl, I created my own "newspaper" for my neighborhood and spent all my time writing, printing and sending each edition to my loyal subscribers (AKA my family and neighbors!). Now, it's a dream come true to be able to write everyday and have a positive impact on communities through my reporting. In my free time, I love to travel, hike, cook and spend time with my family and friends.


No posts to display